Version history

Hyperquery has rich version control capabilities, accessible through the ellipsis at the top right corner of any page.

We use a Google docs-esque Notion-esque version history pattern in order to ensure past work is:

  • Easy to browse
  • Easy to restore
  • Automatically saved

Version history is restricted to Team tier accounts and above.

How version history works

Versions are automatically saved every 15 minutes, as long as changes are detected. Consequently, during the course of a long analytics session, you'll notice we'll create automatic versions every 15 minutes.

All content in each notebook is recorded in these versions -- queries, visualization specs, results, etc. -- meaning these versions are faithful representations of your notebook at that particular point in time.

How restoration works

Restoration will create a new version, meaning any restorations will not overwrite any versions that were created between the latest version and the version that is being restored.

This ensures that restoration is always reversible and non-destructive.